Log in



Mapping Ourselves: A Cartographic Introduction to the 2020 Census & Tapestry Segmentation Analysis

  • Saturday, November 13, 2021
  • 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
  • Zoom

Organized in conjunction with the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division and Johns Hopkins University

Sponsored in partnership with the Boston, California, Chicago, New York, Philip Lee Phillips, Rocky Mountain, and Texas Map Societies

Location: Zoom

Time:  2:00 pm ET/1:00 pm CT/12:00 pm MT/11:00 am PT

Title: Mapping Ourselves: A Cartographic Introduction to the 2020 Census & Tapestry Segmentation Analysis

Speakers:  Meagan Snow, Geospatial Data Visualization Librarian, and John Hessler, Specialist in Computational Geography and Geographic Information Science, Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress

The 2020 Census, along with the American Community Survey, provide a snapshot of the demographics of the American population like no other sources available. Combined they tell the story of the spatial distribution of everything from health care, cell phone ownership, housing expenditures and the level of poverty in the United States by age, gender and race. John Hessler and Meagan Snow have spent this last year advising and training Congressional staff on the data and how to efficiently visualize and map it for policy analysis. The first talk by Hessler, will present an overview of the computational and statistical methods used to create the data and the theory behind segmentation analysis. The second talk by Snow, will focus on visualizing and understanding the data using GIS and other cartographic tools.

Planning to attend?   

RSVP to John Docktor at washmap@gmail.com to receive the Zoom meeting ID and passcode.


© 2021 Washington Map Society.  All Rights Reserved.

  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software