Menu
Log in
Log in



Lectures & Map Display at the Library of Congress; Optional Dinner at Hunan Dynasty Restaurant

  • Thursday, May 02, 2024
  • 3:00 PM - 8:00 PM
  • In-Person and Zoom

Registration

  • Dinner at the nearby Hunan Dynasty Restaurant (215 Pennsylvania Ave. SE), starting at 6:30 pm. The cost will be $40.00 cash (including tax and tip).

Register

In-person and virtual events at Library of Congress in conjunction with the Philip Lee Phillips Society. Optional dinner to follow.

Location: Library of Congress, James Madison Building. Lectures will be held in the Montpelier Room on the 6th floor and also virtually. Tour will be held in the room adjacent to the Montpelier Room.

Time:  3:00 pm ET/2:00 pm CT/1:00 pm MT/12:00 pm PT

Title: Extractive Place Naming Practices in Early Modern North America

Speaker:  Lauren Beck, Canada Research Chair in Intercultural Encounter; Professor of Visual and Material Culture Studies, Mount Allison University, Canada

Time:  4:00 pm ET - 5:00 pm ET

Title: Special Map Display

Time:  5:00 pm ET/4:00 pm CT/3:00 pm MT/2:00 pm PT

Title: Catawba Cartographies: Remapping the Indigenous Southeast, ca. 1670-1733

Speaker:  S. Max Edelson, Professor of History, University of Virginia

Time:  6:30 pm ET - 8:00 pm ET

Title: Dinner at nearby Hunan Dynasty with the Washington Map Society
Location: 215 Pennsylvania Ave. SE, Washington, DC


Planning to attend?   

Click here to register for in person or virtual attendance at the Library of Congress events.

Click here to register for the dinner. The cost will be $40.00 cash (including tax and tip).  Dinner reservations must be made by April 24.


© 2021 Washington Map Society.  All Rights Reserved.

  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software